Starless Sky and Seven

Paige Agnew's Blog and Book Reviews

Starless Reviews

with 21 comments

Share your comments and read others’ about Starless Sky here.

Written by Paige Agnew

July 28, 2010 at 2:14 am

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A Starless Sky was a great read from the beginning to the end. Even when I wasn’t reading it, I wanted to be. Everything in the story was completely relatable, especially if you have experienced a great loss in your life. The book, written by a 15 year old, felt like something that had to have been written by someone with a lifetimes experience. I felt exactly what the main character, Kahlen, felt; I laughed, cried, and grieved right along with her. I picked this book up mainly to get a break from the genre I usually read, and I am so glad I did! Great read for anyone needing an escape, a break, a laugh or a cry, or if you just want a GOOD book to read!!!

    Justin Bolinger

    January 6, 2012 at 5:05 am

  2. Paige Agnew did a wonderful job in explaining the true feelings of teenagers. Kahlen Thomas is a very quiet stubborn 16 year old whom has just experienced the most tragic event of her life, an event that all of us will also have to experience in our lives. At first Kahlen would rather be alone than to become involved with other classmates, wanting only her memories for company. Kahlen treasured the friendship of her best friend Emma Bryant, but soon becomes intrigued with a boy named Kennely. Kahlen resists the new relationship because she always thought having a boyfriend would make life too complicated.

    I enjoyed reading this story. It began on a sad note but I enjoyed the intensity of the characters and I found myself compelled to read on. I enjoyed a roller coaster ride of emotions as I read about Kahlen and reminisced about my own teen years. I thought the plot was done very well, however I felt with the tragic accident was a bit vague in the beginning, but in the later chapters it was cleared up nicely. It could use another edit for some minor grammatical mistakes but they don’t distract from this well written and heartfelt young adult novel.

    4 Stars

    Lisa M.

    September 15, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  3. This was a poignant story written by the author at the young age of fifteen. I’m over forty and I couldn’t write a book to save my life! Very impressive indeed.

    The character of Kahlen was very believable. She seemed like a typical teen and I liked that. It was nice to read of a teen character that wasn’t super intelligent, super strong, with super powers, etc. She was a girl that didn’t like school, whose parents drove her nuts, who snuck out of the house, who ditched class once in a while–you get the picture. Although she acted like a typical teen, the character was dealing with some very intense personal issues. Ms. Agnew was able to capture Kahlen’s emotions very well. Actually, I was impressed at how well she was able to do this.

    While I did enjoy this story, I was disappointed in the editing of this book. It seemed like there was an error or two on almost every page. In my opinion, it is hard for a reader to not be distracted by all of the errors. Even with this though, I feel like Ms. Agnew did a great job on writing her first novel at the age of fifteen. She can look forward to a wonderful career as an author if that is the path she chooses in life….

    My Rating

    This was a good book. The characters were believable and the story was touching. I am giving this book a three (3) cup rating.

    Julie

    March 5, 2011 at 12:53 am

    • I have learned so many lessons about the book industry and I am sure I have a lot more lessons to learn. I am just hoping they will be minor at some point (smile). I so wish over and over I had a good editor from the beginning. I believe the one I have now is very good.

      Thank you for the positive comments (I see the comments about the storyline as being positive as well as comments that are constructive criticism. It helps me become a better author, etc.).

      Paige Agnew

      March 5, 2011 at 1:01 am

  4. Starless Sky is the debut novel written by Paige Agnew. I was impressed to find out that she wrote this book when she was 15 years old. I did enjoy the book. It was beautifully written and I was drawn into the characters right from the beginning. Kahlen is a shy, not overly confident teen who is dealing with a very tragic personal loss. Through this tragedy, she is able to open up and really start enjoying and living life. The author was able to really capture the drama and angst teenagers go through while navigating friendships and first love. The peripheral characters were well written and likeable.

    My only issue with the book is that the author could have used a better editor. There were many typos and editing mistakes in the book. It did get a bit annoying after a while. I would recommend this to any YA reader. I think Ms. Agnew will be a rising star in the literary world. I look forward to seeing what she comes up with next.

    Kari

    March 1, 2011 at 6:36 am

    • Kari,
      Thanks so much for your review. I have learned a lot about book publishing and am sure I have so much more to learn. The first lesson learned, have a good editor.

      Paige Agnew

      March 1, 2011 at 6:47 am

  5. Absolutely captivating. It has been a long time since I read a book that moved me like Starless Sky did. Every now and again I read a book that blows me away. I could not put it down and it was impossible to think of anything other than what I was reading. I skipped a meal, put my phone on silent and when my husband tried to talk to me, he received a very harsh shhh.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who reads.

    Bridget @ Readaholic

    February 18, 2011 at 11:12 am

  6. You never know whether you’ll connect with the characters of a book when you crack the pages of a book. You never know when a book will touch you deeply. You never know when you will find a character that will find a place in your heart.

    Starless Sky is a book that has all of those elements. It is an emotional roller coaster from almost the beginning. The character of Kahlen experiences loss and pain and as a reader, you find yourself being drawn into her story. Paige Agnew is able to capture not only the sensibility of the teenage mind, but also the pain and heartbreak that anyone can experience.

    Starless Sky is a beautiful first novel and was hard to put down. There were a few places that could have been a little tighter edited, but overall, this book captured and kept my interest from beginning to end.

    Whether you read young adult fiction on a regular basis, or this would be your first one in a long while, you should consider checking out Starless Sky. I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

    Heather

    February 16, 2011 at 7:14 am

  7. This is my first young adult contemporary that I ever read, and I’m very glad I did it. The story of a young girl dealt with her lost of her best friend was really unbelievably sad and heartbroken. I think I know that I will feel the same way if I lose a best friend when you only have a few friends that you cherish and means the world to you. It will unacceptable and I could have spend a lot of time to forget about it. I was absolutely enticed with the characters, Kahlen, Kennly and Marissa. I felt so sorry for her, and I felt the tension that she felt to deal with people, family, and friends after the loss. And when she thought Kennley could distract her from the pain, Kennley is also has a past that he also need to deal, which bring a great mysterious and intrigued me to find out.

    Other than that, one thing that I can give a big applause to the author is how she bring up the big issues such as drugs, staying clean, moral issues, and also what I’ve mention before is the loss of a dear one. The issues are heavy and I really think the author successfully translating it on the paper. And I can’t believe she’s a teenager herself! The plot line was great, the scenes are organized very well even there’s a part which I thought shouldn’t be dragged into great details. Most of the time, my eyes were watery and I couldn’t hold back because it was too sad, and yes, it’s a real tearjerker.

    However, I have tiny little complain. I quite having a problem with the font of the words. It kind of a bit distracting and made me a little harder to read. Nonetheless of the complain, it is a beautiful story. All in all, despite of the complain (maybe I’m just too whiny girl), I love the story. The book should get all attentions of all young adults fan and you will agree what I’ve said. Two thumbs up for the author!

    Darlyn in Malaysia

    February 12, 2011 at 10:52 am

  8. Starless Sky is a great young adult novel. I loved that the characters dealt with real issues of loss of a best friend, drugs, and staying morally clean. Starless Sky is a story of second chances, love, friendship, and humor. I will recommend it to the young people I know.

    What I liked: I loved the interactions with Marissa. Kahlen thought she was annoying at first but then when she gave her a chance she realized what a great friend Marissa was. Whenever my boys tell me that someone at school is a “jerk” I tell them to give the person a chance. The other day my oldest told me that he’d made a new friend who he once thought was a “jerk.” He said I was right about giving him a chance.

    What I didn’t like: I felt some of the scenes could’ve been shortened or deleted. I found myself skipping a few times, but I’m big on brevity so this probably wouldn’t bother other readers.

    4 of 5 Stars

    Cami Checketts

    February 12, 2011 at 9:41 am

  9. Starless Sky is a very emotional and gripping story about a teen who has to deal with the loss of her best friend and the aftermath of this gruel event. I really enjoyed reading the book, and the story and main characters where just fabulous! I also thought the story was very original and different than many other teen novels, which is a compliment to the author! I am just very curious for the next books by Paige Agnew!
    4 out of 5 Stars

    Marjolein

    February 11, 2011 at 8:12 am

  10. This was a good one. It was a touching book that dealt with a difficult subject. It was interesting for me to read this one because I was fascinated by the fact that a teen wrote it. I liked seeing how a YA story was written from a YA perspective.

    Paige does seem to be a descriptive writer who wants you to really know what’s going on in the story. As a contemporary YA I thought it was a good book and I can’t wait to see this author grow over time.

    The Cajun Book Lady

    Kris

    February 10, 2011 at 9:31 am

  11. Starless Sky was written by author Paige Agnew when she was only 15!

    The story starts with a young girl Kahlen who has just lost her best friend to a car accident. She is learning to deal with the emotions of loss and grief far too young. Through the course of the story she meets, becomes friends with and eventually falls in love with Kennley. Paige does a wonderful job of combining the two stories into one that keeps you wanting to continue with the story.

    If you go to Paige’s website it says “In the midst of loss there is life; a sentiment Kahlen is not quick to accept” The wisdom of that simple statement goes far beyond Paige’s years. It’s one that many people struggle with and one that I’ve had personal experience with. Kahlen doesn’t like to see the pity and sorrow in people’s eyes as they look at her after her friends death. She works her way through that and finally comes to accept that bad things happen in life and that you have to make the best out of every situation you can.

    I really enjoyed Starless Sky. Paige nailed the high school experience in a way that a lot of young adult books can’t. The conversations are natural and leave you wanting to learn more about the characters. She was able to explore the emotions and keep the story line moving along at the same time. Starless Sky would be a great book for someone who is struggling with the grief process. Even though it’s different for everyone it might help a teenager begin to explore the situation they are experiencing. I am very impressed with Paige Agnews first novel and am looking forward to reading her second novel Seven soon.

    A Review and Giveaway

    February 9, 2011 at 9:05 am

  12. Wow! It has been awhile since I’ve read a YA novel that had me so captivated that I kept thinking about the book even when I was supposed to be doing other things… like working. And the moment it came time to take lunch I was reading. As soon as I got home I was reading until I went to bed at night. I dare say I was pretty obsessed with this story. It was powerfully written and I was emotionally captivated through to the end.My heart even pounded at times. I rarely feel so connected to characters that I get anxious and breathless and fall in love right along with them. But this wasn’t a typical teenage story. I was deeper in so many ways. Things were brought up that really make you think about life and what’s important. I loved the message about dealing with fear and taking risks because in the end it’s always worth it, even if you get hurt in the process. Pain causes growth and that is always a good thing. I have to say the ending was absolutely perfect. I got choked up a number of times. When I read the epilogue I realized that this novel had just the right amount of tension. It also had a fantastic character arc, and the plot was simply enthralling. I fell in love along with Kahlen and I grieved with her, too. I felt her confusion and her continual teenage angst. It was perfectly done young adult fiction. The author had the voice down perfectly and all the drama that goes with being a teenager. I can’t recommend this highly enough for people who love YA fiction and want to experience some realistic,and often intense emotion. I have found a new favorite author. This book is making my best fiction list for 2010 even though I read it in January 2011.

    Michelle Sutton
    author of over a dozen novels- It’s Not About Me (2008), Desert Breeze’s best-selling title for August- Danger at the Door (2009), First Love (October 2010), and Never Without Hope – 4 stars from Romantic Times (July 2010.) Coming soon… Letting Go (Feb 2011) and First Response (June 2011)

    Michelle Sutton

    February 2, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    • Michelle,
      I am honored by your review. It is a pleasure to have others read my writing and feel what I feel when I read a good book.

      Paige Agnew

      February 3, 2011 at 12:09 am

  13. Sitting down to read this book, I was instantly captured. The setting, the plot line, the characters- they all flowed together in a way that only a seasoned author could pen. However, upon finishing this novel, and reading more about this author, this is her debut novel and she was just 15 when she wrote it. Wow! That is some AWESOME work! But, be warned! If you sit down to read a copy of this book, you MUST take stock in Kleenex! This is a definite water works book.

    This sweet author created a novel that is full of heartache yet full of hope and love. There were serious bits, lots of them,but there were, also, a few funny bits, just enough to keep this novel flowing in an ever changing way. There was a touch of mystery to the story with Kennley. He had a past. One that could cause problems. But what will happen if that past catches up to him? That, added to Kahlen’s issues, really intrigued me with this novel, and kept me turning page after

    I highly recommend that everyone give this young, rising author a chance. Her novel, worthy of 4 stars, will capture your heart and keep you hooked until the last page. For a first time author, this young lady gets two thumbs up from me! Well done, Paige, and I am anxious to read your next novel, Seven.

    Molly@BookReviewsbyMolly

    February 1, 2011 at 8:59 am

  14. I loved the book and I hated the book. It got my emotions going from the start. I cried so much today with the book right from go. loved the characters how kathlen and keelly changed with the book and you could see how they changed little bit by little bit. could see the stages of mourning they went through. it shows how cruel and how nice teenagers can be. I wish i had a stream I could sit by be peacful (4.5 of 5 stars )

    rhonda1111

    November 25, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  15. I received this book frome the Member Giveaway. I have to say that I really enjoyed the story. It starts off with the young girl having just lost her best friend in a car accident. Shortly into the story the young girl meets a boy. So really it’s like reading two storys at once. You read about how the girl is coping with losing her best friend but also you get to read a story about a young love. The only downfall of the book was that there seemed to be editing mistakes which made it difficult for me to read. I am eager for the next book by Paige to come out. ( 4 out of 5 stars )

    lirpa137

    November 10, 2010 at 10:44 am

  16. I love reading and read Starless Sky in three days. I really liked it, it was really good and I can hardly wait for her [Paige’s] next book. I liked how Paige is able to change from one setting to another without losing the meaning of the story or reader’s attention. It was refreshing to see how Kahlen and Kennley became best friends first, then boyfriend and girlfriend later, and how he helped her through the process of losing her best friend.

    Mikaela F.

    November 4, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  17. Starless Sky is very interesting; it reminds me of how we all deal with death of a family member or a friend. I find that Kahlen has a lot of emotions to deal with and yet tries to stay focus with here and now.

    Barbara W.

    November 2, 2010 at 9:30 am


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: